Aresync | A Comprehensive Guide To Digital Marketing 2023 - 7 minutes read


Knowing the different types of marketing is essential. Knowing something about it is necessary whether you're a beginner or have been in the industry for a while. The rules have changed. Since 2010, Digital Marketing (or e-business) has been growing like crazy.

For companies, it has become an essential part of the budget allocated to implementing the marketing strategy on the Internet. So much so that today, an effective web marketing and digital communication strategy is essential.

In this article, you will learn about the different types of digital marketing that can increase online traffic and sales. Let's start with the basics of marketing now...

Asics Of Marketing

"Marketing SEO, or Search Engine Optimization, is the practice of enhancing a website's online visibility and organic traffic through strategic techniques. Knowledge of the most critical digital concepts is essential. After reading these definitions of marketing, you will have a clearer mind than the different types of marketing that we will see next.

What Is ROI?

ROI (Return on Investment) is a financial indicator measured by the Amount of money earned or lost by a marketing activity divided by the Amount of money invested in carrying out that activity.

ROI Pattern

The following formula measures return on investment (RO I):

ROI = Amount gained or lost due to the action ÷ Amount invested to initiate the action.

For example, if you invested €36,000 in a Google ad campaign and generated €47,000, your ROI is "positive" because it is greater than 1 (the break-even point). Indeed: 47000 ÷ 36000 = 1.3. It means the campaign generated 30% more than the financial Amount invested. The goal, of course, is to get the highest possible ROI.

What Is Conversion?

Conversion is a goal defined before the implementation of a marketing campaign. In digital marketing, it aims to convert visitors into leads. For example:

·        Get registration: email address, first name, last name, etc.

·        Obtaining answers to the survey.

You often hear the term "conversion " instead of "transaction. " A transaction is a marketing transformation that occurs between the "prospect " and "customer " states. However, you will see something meaningful and challenging to understand in the next part.

What Is The Conversion Rate Formula?

The conversion rate (also known as " transformation rate") is the percentage (in per cent) of visitors/leads that perform a specific action that allows them to change their status according to its nature.

Conversion Factor Base State Next State

Let's look at it with a concrete example. You want to set up a landing page (also known as a "squeeze page" in jargon) where you offer a white paper exchange in exchange for your potential customers' email addresses. Action: Create a landing page. Current status of people: website visitors. Next state: prospectus. Here, the conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who came to the site and left their email. For example, if 100 visitors reached the landing page and 24 exited their contact information, the conversion rate is 24%. So you understand that the conversion rate in digital marketing applies wherever there is a state change.

Lead Is A Potential Customer

For a product or service. That person is targeted and potentially interested in moving to the transaction phase. In digital marketing, the lead is usually the second step in the shopping journey, right after the "visitor" phase and just before the "customer".

What Is A Marketing Persona?

A marketing persona is a typical profile of your ideal customer. It is also called the "customer avatar". Creating it is very simple; you will have to answer the following questions:

·        What type of person is my ideal client?

·        How old?

·        What is their family situation?

·        What are their frustrations?

What Are Their Habits?

These questions aim to bring out a clear profile of the ideal person you want to target. Then, once you've defined your marketing persona, you'll need to customize your marketing campaign.

What is marketing positioning?

It is what is reflected in their minds. Finding your marketing positioning is all about establishing a precise brand identity. Goal: make others see you the way you want them to.

Marketing positioning is where your brand stands relative to the competition in your market.

When we think of " marketing positioning" and strategically placing your brand, we can talk about:

·        Positioning based on the features of your product/service.

·        Positioning for the benefits of the product/service.

·        Setting for the symbolic value of the product/service.

·        Product/service quality positioning.

·        Placing on the price of your services.

·        The role of marketing positioning is to help you:

·        Determining the market position that will suit your marketing persona.

·        See where your competition is about you.

·        Focus your marketing activities on the marketing pillars: product, price, distribution, and promotion.

When you start the marketing process for your company or a client company, always start with actions in the following direction:

·        Create marketing positioning.

·        Identify marketing personas.

·        Set up a marketing strategy: product, price, distribution, promotion.

·        Set a digital marketing strategy: traffic, acquisition, conversion, and loyalty.

Two Main Types Of Digital Marketing

When we talk about types of digital marketing, we can think of two prominent families. Let's start with the first one….

Outbound Marketing

Outbound marketing is a strategy that involves following the consumer through commercial prospecting strategies.

SEA The King Of Instant Movement

First, there is SEA (Search Engine Advertising). That is, advertising in search engines. Very common on Google (over 92% of Internet users use it).

Through The Display

The first option is to pay the search engine for appearing in the first search results of selected keywords with the "advertisement" insertion. Also called "paid search", it allows you to attract people performing a specific search for a keyword phrase. The second option is to be visible on advertising inserts within websites.

Often in the form of banners, the exposure allows you to generate visitors from other sites. Search is paid in the CPC (cost per click) system and displayed in the CMP (cost per thousand impressions) system. SEA is determined by the budget assigned to each campaign/prospecting day.

Social Selling The King Of Impulse Purchases

Secondly, social selling (selling on social networks). So, as the name suggests, prospecting through social media. Here are some examples of platforms where you can social sell:

·        Facebook Ads (z Instagram Ads).

·        YouTube Ads.

·        LinkedIn Ads/LinkedInSales Navigator.

Tiktok Ads

And even more. The goal of social selling is to reach as many people in your target audience as possible by doing two things:

Inbound Marketing

Unlike its colleague above, inbound marketing is about attracting consumers by delivering value from content creation. There are two types of channels on which you can do inbound marketing.

SEO The King Of Cheap Sourcing

SEO (Search Engine Optimization) is a digital marketing practice that involves creating and optimizing a website and its content to achieve better search engine rankings to acquire visitors in a "natural" way (without advertising). Improving her natural links must be a priority to attract visitors through this channel. SEO has the advantage of offering two things:

  King Of Branding

SMO (Search Media Optimization) is a type of marketing that involves attracting traffic to blog posts by creating content on social networking sites. Promoting your image (branding ) among the community is a very effective channel.

How To Increase Sales With Marketing?

First, you need to establish the basics of your marketing: market need, offer and price. Then, to increase sales, you can use more direct channels such as email marketing and automated prospecting on social networks (Manychat on Messenger and ProspectIn on LinkedIn). Finally, the exclusivity versus the competition, the rarity of the solution, and the urgency aspect should be worked on to increase sales at marketing events.

Can We Do Inbound Marketing And Outbound Marketing At The Same Time?

It is the perfect solution. Inbound marketing is a type of digital marketing that takes time to produce results. On the other hand, outbound marketing is a much faster solution: you pay and get traffic immediately. So now you know all about the differ